Landcare Award Winners 2017

The Landcare awards are held to acknowledge the amazing achievements of the Landcarers and their positive impact on the environment. These awards are held every two years as it is considered one of the most prestigious awards that the governor of Victoria can host to honor the excellent work done by the Landcare individuals. This award can be given to individuals, groups, and organizations that have made the best efforts, achievements, and improvements for the community.

Winners-2017During the 2017 year, there were over 80 nominations for this prestigious award and 14 categories from which 14 lucky people would be chosen as the best of the best. There are many veterans on the list which was showcases amazing dedication from the people, however, there were also many newcomers which a positive sign is due to the growing popularity of the Landcare association.Before we list all the winners of the nominations and their achievements we would like to take a moment to congratulate all the participants on their amazing work and give our praise for their positive impact on the environment. Everyone should feel proud for their hard work towards providing a safer and better future where our environment is being nurtured and preserved both for us and the generations to come.

Congratulations to the all winners, that we have listed in the section below. Your contributions will not be forgotten and we expect to see even more people in the next Landcare award ceremony held in 2019.Landcare-awards

  • The Joan Kirner Landcare Award-Winner: Terry Hubbard
  • The Urban Landcare Award-Winner: Blackburn and District Tree Preservation Society
  • Highly Commended: Friends of Lower Kororoit Creek Inc
  • The Landcare Network Award-Winner: Connecting Country
  • The Junior Landcare Team Award-Winner: Penbank School – Woodleigh School
  • Highly Commended: Bass Coast Landcare Network’s Environmental Detectives Team
  • Australian Government Excellence in Sustainable Farm Practices Award-Winner: Woady Yaloak Catchment Group
  • Highly Commended: Simon Falkiner
  • Australian Government Innovation in Agricultural Land Management-Winner: Simon Falkiner
  • Australian Government Individual Landcarer Award-Winner: Ian Higgins
  • Highly Commended: Ian Grenda, Jim de Henin, and Kaye Rodden
  • Commended: Penny Roberts and Ann Robson
  • Australian Government Partnerships for Landcare Award-Winner: Wandoon Estate Aboriginal Corporation
  • Austcover Young Landcare Leader Award-Winner: Kathleen Brack
  • SureGro Coastcare Award-Winner: Friends of Beware Reef
  • Fairfax Media Landcare Community Group Award-Winner: Tarrangower Cactus Control Group
  • Highly Commended: 3 Creeks Landcare Group
  • Commended: Yarra Valley Equestrian Landcare Group
  • Rio Tinto Indigenous Land Management Award-Winner: Angela Jeffery
  • Highly Commended: Waka Walla Land Management Crew
  • Commended: Windamara Aboriginal Corporation
  • Victorian Farmers Federation/Landcare Victoria Inc. Heather Mitchell Memorial Fellowship-Winner: Sandii Lewis
  • Dr. Sidney Plowman Travel and Study Award-Winner: Bret Ryan
  • Highly Commended: Tony Gardiner and Kate McWhinney